George R. Nelson, M.D. Elected as Lloyd Center’s Chairman of the Board

dr-george-nelsonDartmouth, MA. – The Lloyd Center is pleased to announce that, at the first meeting of its Board of Directors following the Center’s annual meeting, George R. Nelson, M.D. was elected to a three-year term as chairman of the Board of Directors. A long-time supporter of the Lloyd Center, Dr. Nelson has been a member of the Board since 2009, and it’s co-vice chair over the past 3 years. He led the effort to conserve Karen Lloyd’s final 27-acre gift to the Center by obtaining a NAWCA grant for its conservation in perpetuity. Dr. Nelson also recently chaired the Lloyd Center Search Committee, which after extensive interviews, recommended the appointment of Ms. Rachel L. Stronach as its new Executive Director.

Dr. Nelson was in a combined M.D. / Ph.D. program at the University of Virginia and Harvard Medical School, graduating in 1970. He completed his Internal Medicine residency at Strong Memorial Hospital in Rochester, N.Y., and then returned to Boston to complete his Cardiology Fellowship at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. In the early 1980’s, Dr. Nelson was invited to participate in a month-long medical symposium in Beijing, China. This was co-sponsored by the U.S. State Department and the Chinese government in an effort to bring Chinese medicine up-to- date following the reign of Mao Tse Tung. He is a recognized authority on heart failure and cardiac pacing/defibrillator therapy and was cited by the International Board of Heart Rhythm Specialists for “special competency in pacing and defibrillator therapy” in 2006. He was a founding partner of Cardiology Associates of Fairfield County and Director of the Catheterization Lab at the Einstein College Hospital and subsequently Director of the Pacing Service and Cardiac Rehabilitation Program at Norwalk Hospital in Fairfield County, CT.

An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Nelson and his wife Trish have owned a home in Padanaram since 2000 and have lived here full-time since 2005.

Eric Braitmayer of Fairhaven was elected to a one-year term as Board Vice-Chair, and Kathryn C. Duff of New Bedford was re-elected to a one-year term as Board Vice-Chair. Richard J. Rheaume, P.E., L.S.P. of Dartmouth was elected to a one-year term as Board Treasurer, and Jeffrey P. Gonsalves of Dartmouth was elected to a one-year term as Board Secretary.

The Lloyd Center is fortunate to have the extraordinary leadership of outstanding members of the community. We are grateful for their willingness to make the selfless contributions of time and talent, which they so generously do,” stated Lloyd Center Executive Director Rachel Stronach when announcing the elections.

They will lead an impressive team of directors (members of the board) for the coming year: Michael J. Eatough of Fairhaven, Myrna W. Hall of Dartmouth, Morris W. Kellogg of Wellesley, Thomas E. Lynch, Jr. of Dartmouth, Robert A. MacGregor of Dartmouth, Shari L. McGuire of Dartmouth, Robert M. Pielech, C.P.A. of Cumberland, Rhode Island, and Randall T. Weeks, Jr., Esq. of Dartmouth. Joining the Board of Directors for three-year terms are Peter L. Macdonald of Denver, CO, and Ally Verdi Roach of Greenwich, CT.